HOME  |  The Authority  |   Admin Profiles  |   Career   |   Sports Laws  |   Contact Us  |   AAG-2015  |  

 |  Thursday, 27-July-2017

Athletics  |  Badminton  |  Baseball/Softball  |  Beach Sports  |  Boxing (Amateur)  |  Boxing (Professional)  |  Chess  |  Cricket  |  Cycling  |  Disabled Sports  |  Football  |  Golf  |  GTF Club League   |  Judo  |  Karate-Do  |  Kick Boxing  |  Netball  |  Ocean Racing   |  Rugby  |  Scrabbles  |  Special Olympics  |  Table Tennis  |  Taekwondo  |  Tennis  |  Volleyball  |  Weight Lifting  |  
All Sporting Disciplines Multimedia Room Press & Features
Overview OF Golf in Ghana Introduction..
Golf– The Game For Life..
Professional Golf..
Ghana Open Golf Championship..
Golf Development Foundation..
Golf >>Ghana Open Golf Championship

The Ghana Amateur Open Golf Championship is the flagship Tournament of the year with a long chorused history dating back to the 1920’s.

The first competition was organized in 1927 hosted by the Beach Course which is now extinct.  Records show that the Championship has been held annually since then with a null during the war years 1942-1945. There has   been some improvement in Golf Facilities with the construction of 18 Hole Golf courses at Achimota, Tema, Kumasi and Damang.


The Tournament which is now held traditionally in during the Easter Holiday is rotated among the leading 18 Hole Golf Clubs in the country.



The Kumasi Golf Club tops all clubs when it comes to hosting since first hosting the Open in 1932 because of the 9 Hole Golf courses at the time; Kumasi provided the ideal and challenging setting. From1956, the hosting rotated between Achimota and Kumasi, but Tema entered the fray in 1979 and Celebrity in 1994.

The 2009 Tournament was hosted by the Tema Country Club in 2009 and a review of the history shows that since the 1952 when Takoradi hosted the event, the Open has eluded the Western Region over the past 48yrs. This year’s Tournament has at last come to the West through Damang Golf Club . 

The Damang Golf Club is located at Abosso Goldfieds Limited, Damang Gold Mine in the Western Region of Ghana.


Sponsorship of the Open was previously yeomanly sponsored by Sliver Star Auto for 8yrs and last year 2009 by Stanbic Bank. The 2010 Open Tournament is being multiple sponsored by Sports Council and other Co-Sponsors.


The initial competitors were open to Men only, with  the  Expatriate  Community dominating. The first winner on record in 1930 was Capt. A. Mockenzie of V’Borg Club.

The first Ghanaian to win the Ghana Open was Sam K. Appiah in 1963 but was not until the 1970’s that   David Abaloo won  in 1971  and  subsequently  Ghanaians  began  to win,  year in and year out.


A lot of them progressed  to be  Professionals, namely, J. Dey, Y. Kwashie,  W. Degbe, C. Quarshie,  J. A. Kwashie,  Yao Daniel,  Effa Poku,  S. Y. Anarfi. Nii Badu,  F. C. Dzikunu,   amos Korblah and  Baba Akologo.

Outstanding winners have been four (4) males, two of whom have won it four (4) times, J. E. Stewart (1948, 1949, 1950, and 1951) Walter Degbe (1982, 1983, 1984 and 1986) and two others who have won it three times, J. J. Coggin (1959, 1961, 1962) and Ted Munn (1966, 1968, 1969) and Sam Appiah (1963, 1972, 1975).

The current Champion is Francis Torgah of Royal Golf, Kumasi who returned gross 225 to win the 2009 Event.

Ladies participated for the first time in 1973, with Mrs Leticia Omaboe winning the inaugural Ladies event. Subsequently four (4) Ladies from Achimota have dominated the Ladies event, notably Grace Quartey, Sussie Abaloo, Mona Captain (now Mrs Myers-Lampety). The only visiting winner has been Bessy Habermacher (nee Boateng) who entered from Kenya, playing to Handicap 2.

The 2009 Ladies Event saw the emergence of new champions. Grace Afriyie returned a gross 248 to beat perennial winner, Mona Myers-Lamptey (nee Captan)

The conduct of the tournament has changed with the Men’s events changing to 54 Holes since 1971 when David Abaloo won at Achimota.

The Ladies event has been vacillating between 36 and 54 Holes.


   Photo News

CAL Beach Soccer League....

Unity Games News....



Discipline News....


General News....

Latest Events....

Photo News....

Press Release....

Results & Reports....

Tournaments Draws....

HOME  |  2011 Unity Games  |   Achievements  |   Regional Heads  |   Sports Men & Women  |   Sport Professionals  |   CAL Beach Soccer  |  
Sports Professionals
Coaches (7)
Umpires (0)
Referees (0)
Announcers (2)
Commentators (0)
Sports Journalists (1)
Trainers (1)
Boxers (2)
Footballers (2)
Athletes (10)
Stars of Yester-Years
1957 - 1970 (0)
1980 - 2011 (7)
All rights reserved . © 2009 - 2017. National Sports Authority (NSA). Powered by DOTHOUSE