HOME  |  The Authority  |   Admin Profiles  |   Career   |   Sports Laws  |   Contact Us  |   AAG-2015  |  

 |  Monday, 26-June-2017

Athletics  |  Badminton  |  Baseball/Softball  |  Beach Sports  |  Boxing (Amateur)  |  Boxing (Professional)  |  Chess  |  Cricket  |  Cycling  |  Disabled Sports  |  Football  |  Golf  |  GTF Club League   |  Judo  |  Karate-Do  |  Kick Boxing  |  Netball  |  Ocean Racing   |  Rugby  |  Scrabbles  |  Special Olympics  |  Table Tennis  |  Taekwondo  |  Tennis  |  Volleyball  |  Weight Lifting  |  
All Sporting Disciplines Multimedia Room Press & Features
Badminton Association Names Final Squad..
The Game Badminton..
Executive Board..
Brief History..
Badminton >>Brief History

The sport of Badminton was introduces in Ghana in the 1950’s as a result of individual interest and love for the sport. Two main names Synonymous to the Ghana Badminton are Mr. Akainyah a Kumasi based lawyer and Mr. Teye Boahwey a former Technical coordinator of the National Sports Council.

The Badminton Association of Ghana was formed in 1974 under the auspices of the National Sports Council and became a full member of the African Badminton Federation and international Badminton Federation in 1976.


On the 13th July, 1977, Ghana together with leaders from Kenya Badminton Association, Mauritius Badminton Association, Nigeria Badminton Association, Re-Union Badminton Association and Tanzania Badminton Association met in Dares Salaam, Tanzania to ratify the constitution of the Federation and officially declared the founding of Africa Badminton Federation.


Two years later in 1979 Ghana hosted the Africa Badminton Federation tournament in Kumasi and the under 15 trophy was donated by the Ghana Badminton Association.


Since the it’s inception, the Association has had five (5) Chairmen and several Secretaries General. The first Chairman was Mr. Akainyah a Kumasi based Lawyer from 1974 to 1979, followed by Mr. F.M. Dickson, 1980-2001, the Mr. Charles K. Darko, 2001-2004 and the current Chairman is Mr. Paul Kodjokuma.


The former Secretaries General includes; Mr. Jerry Kanfra, Miss Vida Dzomeku, Mr. K. Ampim Darko, Mr. J. D. Effue, Mr. Ashalley Okine, Mr. Andrews Ocloo and Mr. Sadoc Nelson Oduro and Mr. Ignatius Elletey are the current Secretary General.


From 1996 to 2007, the Association has organized seven (7) technical courses and produces several trainers and coaches. The courses include; Beginners course in Accra, 1986 and 1990, intermediate course at Winneba, 1991, 1996 IOC Advance coaching course in Winneba, 2001 coaching clinic, Accra and 2007 IOC level once coaching course in Winneba.


The Association has participated in number of major international tournaments namely; A.P. International – Nigeria, 1995, All African Games in Botswana, 1997, Commonwealth Games in Malaysia, 1998, All African Games in South Africa in 1999, Open Championship, 2001, Zambia, Manchester Commonwealth Games, 2002, A.P. International Nigeria, 2002, All Africa Badminton Championship, Algeria, 2006 and 2007 All African Games in Algeria.


From 1980’s to 2002 the programmes of the Association were sponsored by the following companies; Kumasi Brewery Ltd, Linner Agency, Antartic Construction Works Ltd, as well as A Naggesten Ltd.


The main obstacle to the development and promotion of the game of Badminton in Ghana is funs, equipment and personnel (such as coaches, trainers, umpires, referees & Judges) and facilities/infrastructure (Playing Halls).


   Photo News

Chairman's National Badminton championship, 2009


CAL Beach Soccer League....

Unity Games News....



Discipline News....


General News....

Latest Events....

Photo News....

Press Release....

Results & Reports....

Tournaments Draws....

HOME  |  2011 Unity Games  |   Achievements  |   Regional Heads  |   Sports Men & Women  |   Sport Professionals  |   CAL Beach Soccer  |  
Sports Professionals
Coaches (7)
Umpires (0)
Referees (0)
Announcers (2)
Commentators (0)
Sports Journalists (1)
Trainers (1)
Boxers (2)
Footballers (2)
Athletes (10)
Stars of Yester-Years
1957 - 1970 (0)
1980 - 2011 (7)
All rights reserved . © 2009 - 2017. National Sports Authority (NSA). Powered by DOTHOUSE